Red Balloons

13 11 2010

Is God a better Father than I am?

Stupid question, right? Of course God is a better Father than I am. He’s God, the Great Teacher of Wisdom and Truth. Consider the lesson He taught me recently.

I was sitting on my living-room floor when my 19 month-old son carried a book over and handed it to me. I took it; he turned and plopped down in my lap. I began to read to him, stopping from time to time to ask him didactic questions: “Where’s the balloon? Can you point to the red balloon?” You know, stuff like that to help him learn words, concepts, etc.

But I got distracted.

I just kept thinking about how I love when he sits in my lap. I enjoyed the smell of his hair and the warmth of his little frame. I kissed his head and smiled as he batted me away with his tiny hands. And that’s when it hit me. (Not his hands, the lesson)

In the course of life, I spend a lot of time asking God what I’m supposed to be learning. “What’s the lesson this time, God? Tell me so I can learn it and get on with my life.” But sitting with my son made me wonder if God is more interested in me and our relationship than He is in whether or not I’m keeping ahead of some imaginary, spiritual learning curve.

What if every lesson God could ever want to teach me begins and ends with the reality of His love for me?

Some may say there is much more to learn about healthy spirituality after we’ve grasped His love for us, but, to be honest, truly accepting that the God of the Universe unconditionally loves me seems to be the hardest lesson for me to grasp.

And I suppose if I could give my son some grand store of information or simply see him grow up secure in my love for him, I would rather him know my love…

…the red balloons can wait.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment